Skip to content

Groundhog Day (or, ‘I love my parents but…..’)

August 30, 2013

Well it’s nearly that time again, the back to school time! Where did this summer go I wonder? Actually I know where it went, it had a call of duty and I answered. So forevermore this summer will be known as ‘the one where the parents stayed, for a long time!’ And I do love my parents. But……

I could justify it by saying we’re used to having our teeny house to ourselves. Or that we’re too independent in our lives and lifestyles. Or that we like doing our own thing. But…….

They drove me crazy, I mean proper muttering as I walked around the house crazy. Is it compulsory, when you’ve retired to a small enclave abroad, to come back so picky and grumpy? Or is it them? I know this much, I’m now glad I’ll be working into my 60s/70s because if that’s the alternative? No thank you! Maybe I’m being harsh but it seems they’ve literally, overnight, chosen to be OLD, and they’re not. 65 & 64 is not old, at least I don’t think so. And their intolerance is set to maximum, they’re anti every minority and it actually hurt me to hear their opinions aired in my house, that they’re that judgemental about everything and everyone. There’s no joy in their hearts is my conclusion and that saddens me.

It’s made me remember that you have to cultivate joy, if something makes you smile, celebrate it openly so people can see, because happiness is infectious and Pollyanna was right when she looked for it in every bad situation. We should always be gladful. So I’ve decided that, the crazy stuff aside: I’m gladful my Dad’s new heart gizmo is working; that although Mum’s sight isn’t great, it’s still there; that it was sunny and warm this year through the summer; that I can find the joy.

I hope everyone else finds some too. xxx

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment